I’m back…and I’m going to Australia!

20160331-210508-75908969.jpg

Helllloooooo world.

Long time no see…or write…or travel.

The past few months have been crazy. I graduated, moved to a new apartment in northern Virginia, began work at a creative agency in Washington, D.C., and started dating the most wonderful guy in the world.

For a thrill-seeking nomad like me, settling into a 9-to-5 (well, in the agency world it’s really a 9-to-9) is a difficult adjustment. No more spontaneous weekday adventures, or month-long traipses through Europe. No more getting up and going at a moment’s notice when an opportunity presents itself.

And saying I’ve been stir crazy is an understatement. The map of the world on my wall teases me every time I get home from work late and flop onto my bed. So many countries to see still, and I am so eager to get out there.

But on the plus side, I absolutely love my job. The creative field is the right fit for me and I love the diversity of projects that comes with working in an agency environment. Plus, I get salaried income and a few vacation days, so it’s not quite the end of the world.

My company allows vacation only after the first six months of employment, so you better believe from day one my butt was planning a trip right at that six month mark.

And six months later, here I am at the Abu Dhabi airport, typing this during my layover to Melbourne, Australila.

That’s right, I’m going to AUSTRALIA!!!!!!

I’m finally visiting my wonderful friend Sasha who was my best friend on my Contiki tour two summers ago. Last January, she visited me in D.C., so it only natural that I take my turn now seeing her in her home!

Excited doesn’t begin to cover what I’m feeling. But it’s the word I’ll use for now.

My flight’s about to board so I’ve got to post this quickly and skidaddle…

See you soon Oz!!

4 thoughts on “I’m back…and I’m going to Australia!

  1. Have an amazing time in Australia! With its vast and varied landscapes, unique wildlife, and white-sand beaches, Australia is one of the most interesting continents around.They have beaches, tropical forests, deserts, Kangaroo island – you can eve go skiing. Head to Mt. Buller about three hours north of Melbourne, Victoria and you’ll find a scene more reminiscent of Switzerland than the South Pacific. The slopes aren’t the biggest in the world, but if you’re looking to ski, snowboard, or mountain bike down under, Mt. Buller is definitely the place.

Tell me your thoughts!

